Here's Exactly How Many States Are Super

by Alexi McCammond

After the crucial Iowa and Nevada caucuses, as well as the New Hampshire and South Carolina primaries, the remaining candidates are preparing for arguably the most important voting event of the season before the general election: Super Tuesday. Voters will head to the polls on Tuesday, March 1, to help in selecting both the Democratic and the Republican nominees. A lot is at stake for the candidates at Super Tuesday, not only because of the number of primaries and caucuses held across the country, but also because there are many more delegates they can receive. From Alaska to Wyoming, there are 14 states participating in Super Tuesday 2016.

Super Tuesday is also called the SEC Primary because five of the states (Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Texas and Tennessee) have sports teams that play in the Southeastern Conference (SEC) in the collegiate division. Because so many states are voting, a clear Democratic frontrunner could emerge between Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders, who have been nearly tied throughout the election season. Early polls showed Sanders making progress, but Clinton remaining in the lead before the highly-anticipated voting takes place on Super Tuesday. With five candidates remaining on the Republican side, it's a little more difficult to project who will emerge the frontrunner, but there could likely be a shift in the GOP frontrunner after all the states' votes are tallied.

This year, there are 14 states and one American territory participating in Super Tuesday. Not every state holds primaries or caucuses for both the Democratic and the Republican party, so here is a breakdown of the 14 total states involved in the big event.

Democrat & Republican

Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images

There are 11 states that host voting elections for both Democratic and Republican candidates. Of the 11, nine states host primaries, and only two host caucuses.

Primary: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Massachusetts, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, and Virginia. Caucus: Colorado and Minnesota.

Republicans Only


There are only three states that participate in Super Tuesday that host Republican-only voting: Alaska, North Dakota, and Wyoming. All three states' voting events are caucuses, not primaries.

Democrat Only


The American Samoa is the one U.S. territory involved in Super Tuesday. With six delegates, American Samoa will host a caucus event on Mar. 1 for the SEC Primary. American Samoa and its small group of islands became an unorganized U.S. territory in 1990. It is located in the South Pacific Ocean and, according to the CIA World Factbook, "about halfway between Hawaii and New Zealand."

Believe it or not, both primaries and caucuses can be laugh-out-loud hilarious. Don't believe us? Have a listen to Bustle's "The Chat Room" podcast...