Everything To Know About 1989 (Taylor’s Version)

Swift just revealed the titles of her new “From the Vault” songs, including one that’s sure to raise eyebrows.

Originally Published: 

Taylor Swift’s 1989 never goes out of style, and her next era is about to prove that. On Aug. 9, Swift finally announced the release of 1989 (Taylor’s Version) at her Eras Tour show in Los Angeles, which marked her final U.S. concert of 2023. The singer has been teasing the re-recording of her second Grammy Album of the Year winner for over two years, dating back to when her first “Taylor’s Version” album was released before she swerved and released Red (Taylor’s Version) and Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) first.

Naturally, there were hints that made Swifties think she would announce 1989 (TV) on Aug. 9, mainly because it was 8/9, aligning with the numbers of the album. Swift slowly built up to the 1989 announcement during the show, donning new blue get-ups for the Speak Now, Folklore, and 1989 acts to match her new era’s color.

Before she even left the stage, Swift shared the announcement on social media, revealing the album cover and explaining why it’s her favorite “Taylor’s Version” album to date. “Surprise!! 1989 (Taylor’s Version) is on its way to you!” she wrote. “The 1989 album changed my life in countless ways.... To be perfectly honest, this is my most FAVORITE re-record I’ve ever done because the 5 From The Vault tracks are so insane. I can’t believe they were ever left behind. But not for long!”

Indeed, it won’t be long until Swifties can finally listen to 1989 (Taylor’s Version). Here’s everything you need to know.

1989 (Taylor’s Version) Release Date

As announced at Swift’s Los Angeles show on Aug. 9, 1989 (Taylor’s Version) will be released on Oct. 27, 2023. The album will arrive exactly nine years after the original album was released in 2014.

Kevin Winter/TAS23/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images

1989 (Taylor’s Version) Vault Puzzles

On Sept. 19, Swift put her legion of fans to good use and asked them to decode 89 different puzzles on Google — yes, 89 to match the album title. Each puzzle had an answer that somehow related to the original 1989 era, from lyrics to memorable Instagram captions. The puzzles had to be solved 33 million times in total to unlock the titles of her 1989 Vault tracks, but since Swifties don’t mess around, the code was cracked by the following day.

1989 (Taylor’s Version) Tracklist

On the morning of Sept. 20, Swift revealed four “From the Vault” track titles in a Google vault video: “Is It Over Now?,” “Now That We Don’t Talk,” “Say Don’t Go,” and “Suburban Legends.” However, there was still one more song to be unveiled, which was teased in a separate vault video on Swift’s Instagram account. The letters coming out of the blue vault include “T,” “S,” “U,” and “L,” plus two quote marks and an exclamation point, making fans believe that the final Vault track is called “Lust!” or “Slut!”

Hours later, Swift confirmed the answer by sharing the entire tracklist on Twitter. “Thank you for playing along, sleuthing, puzzling and making these reveals so much chaotic fun,” she wrote, adding in parentheses, “which is the best kind of fun, after all.” 1989 (Taylor’s Version) will feature 21 tracks in total, including re-recordings of 16 beloved songs from the original album and the five new Vault tracks. Read the entire 1989 (Taylor’s Version) below.

  1. “Welcome To New York (Taylor's Version)”
  2. “Blank Space (Taylor's Version)”
  3. “Style (Taylor's Version)”
  4. “Out Of The Woods (Taylor's Version)”
  5. “All You Had To Do Was Stay (Taylor's Version)”
  6. “Shake It Off (Taylor's Version)”
  7. “I Wish You Would (Taylor's Version)”
  8. “Bad Blood (Taylor's Version)”
  9. “Wildest Dreams (Taylor's Version)”
  10. “How You Get The Girl (Taylor's Version)”
  11. “This Love (Taylor's Version)”
  12. “I Know Places (Taylor's Version)”
  13. “Clean (Taylor's Version)”
  14. “Wonderland (Taylor's Version)”
  15. “You Are In Love (Taylor's Version)”
  16. “New Romantics (Taylor's Version)”
  17. “‘SLUT!’ (Taylor's Version) (From The Vault)”
  18. “Say Don’t Go (Taylor's Version) (From The Vault)”
  19. “Now That We Don’t Talk (Taylor's Version) (From The Vault)”
  20. “Suburban Legends (Taylor's Version) (From The Vault)”
  21. “Is It Over Now? (Taylor's Version) (From The Vault)”

1989 (Taylor’s Version) Collabs

Swift has yet to announce any collaborations on 1989 (Taylor’s Version), and if the back covers of the album are any indication, there will be no features. This would mark a first for her “Taylor’s Version” albums, as she’s featured at least two artists on “From the Vault” tracks on each of her previous “Taylor’s Version” re-recordings, Fearless, Red, and Speak Now.

John Shearer/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images

Fans thought that Nicki Minaj may be featured on 1989 (TV), after one of the answers to the 1989 vault puzzles said “Sagittarius,” a word that both artists have referenced in recent weeks. In August, the rapper quote-tweeted a post about them sharing a Billboard Hot 100 record. “Fighting the urge to say Sagittarius tingz right now so bad,” she wrote. At the 2023 MTV Video Music Awards, Swift called Minaj her “favorite Sagittarius,” continuing the possible teasing. However, unless Swift reveals secret features before the album’s release, this was just another fan theory gone awry.

1989 (Taylor’s Version) Album Cover

Along with the release date, Swift also unveiled the 1989 (Taylor’s Version) album cover, which shows her smiling while surrounded by seagulls, a nod to her sweater on the original 1989 cover. Swifties on Twitter were quick to notice the significance of the 1989 (TV) artwork, pointing out that it’s the first time she’s smiling on an album cover.

This post will be updated as more details are announced.

This article was originally published on